Spring Eggs

eggs

So,  the day after Easter we found these eggs hidden in a flower pot that was housing a fern. If you look at the edge of the pot, there are faded white parts that the bird has been perching on a scratching up to design her nest. This was day one of the discovery, and I continued to take pictures daily for a period of time. It was very interesting to see the way the eggs were sorted, and the new eggs over a period of time. Nature is just amazing, isn’t it? 😉

eggs2 eggs3 eggs5

All of the different ways the eggs were being organized. Never once did I touch the eggs or the anything around it. I wanted to make sure not to disturb the nest and scare mother bird away!

eggs6 eggs7 eggs8

She continued to lay one to two eggs daily over the span of 1-2 weeks.

But we never saw her once. I believe she was staying on the nest over night, early mornings, and the evenings. Possibly throughout the day as well.

eggs9 eggs10 eggs12

We finally started seeing the bird around. I believe she’s stopped laying eggs and has since been keeping them warm from the unpredictable Arizona weather!

eggs13

I just couldn’t wait any longer to share these pictures with you guys!

After some research, we believe the bird is a quail. I got close enough to take a peek at her while she was nesting (not close enough to scare her away!) and I briefly saw what I believe to be the distinguishing feather on the top of her head, so we’ll just have to wait and see! I’ll try to post updates when possible, because this is a really unique experience for me and I’m pretty excited about it witnessing it and photographing the occasion.  🙂 Thank you all for your support!

eggs14maybe

5 thoughts on “Spring Eggs

  1. They do look like quail eggs. Quail are so adorable, too — lucky you to have such a wonderful house guest. 🙂

    Love the pictures, and here’s hoping there are some wonderful baby bird pictures soon.

Leave a Reply

